Konnichiwa Hello

Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

read other DiaryLand diaries!"

about me - read my profile!

newest entry

older entries

contact me

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com!

previous next

0 comments so far

You can leave a comment by clicking the above link.

Or you can leave a message at my "guest book" see link below.

The "Guest Book" has been removed due to abusive stuff being put there.

Another pic. from Japan

The doll is about 2.5 feet (760mm) tall.

When my older niece (9) saw this picture, she wished that I could have got it for her.

She has a collection of dolls, not the plastic types.

Currently I have �300 toward my next holiday to Japan saved. It includes 13,269 Yen (about �71) left from my last holiday and �50 in Bank of England notes that I had with me in case I needed to purchase something while in Heathrow Airport.

Yes the Sars does have me concerned about the risk of catching it. It is the risk of bring it home that concerns me more than catching and maybe dying from it. Current death rate is 6% of those who have it.

Only a baka would not be afraid. It is the thought of catching it and passing it to family members that I would fear the most.

The next holiday is being planed for February or March next year and the Sars thing might be under better control or even over by then.

Additional

Taken from

http://www.japantoday.com/e/?content=news&cat=7&id=257826

Globally, more than 260 people have died of the virus and about 4,400 have been infected � roughly half of those in the Chinese mainland. WHO reports that more than 2,000 people have recovered from the disease, which has no definitive treatment.

However, health officials continue to wrestle with calculations for the death rate for SARS. Hong Kong health officials revised their rate Thursday to 7.2% of all reported cases, from about 5% earlier.

The World Health Organization and U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention say the death rate remains below 6%, but there is disagreement among various governments about how to calculate it.

The South China Morning Post quoted two experts as saying the mortality rate in Hong Kong might end up around 10%.

"Many academics estimated the death rate to be between 5% and 6%," Sydney Chung Sheung-chee, dean of medicine at the Chinese University of Hong Kong, was quoted as saying. "But a conservative estimate would be at least 10%." (Wire reports)

Osaka . . . . . . . . . Belfast

The WeatherPixie . . . . . The WeatherPixie

previous next

Still breathing - 27.07.11 - 14:16 -

Long awaited entry - 23.05.11 - 23:57 -

Kinder Hunting - 25.03.09 - 21:47 -

unemployment :( - 12.02.09 - 01:11 -

Orange blocks 0560 numbers - 30.09.08 - 23:33 -