Konnichiwa Hello

Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

read other DiaryLand diaries!"

about me - read my profile!

newest entry

older entries

contact me

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com!

previous next

0 comments so far

You can leave a comment by clicking the above link.

Or you can leave a message at my "guest book" see link below.

The "Guest Book" has been removed due to abusive stuff being put there.

I bloody see you ACD See crap

Okay, do not download and install ACD See version 5. Bloody thing messed up my firewall. As soon as windows was running, it would turn off my firewall. It is a great program for displaying your graphic files and it has an auto preview.

But the version 5 makes your files shareable over the internet. That is okay as my firewall would allow me to restrict as to who can axcess my computer, but that program disables the firewall making my computer vunerable to attack.

Paranoid, NO.

The number people that bounce off the wall can be very high in number, with about 80% or more being just junk.

It is the one's from none business and ISP servers that cause concern. For the past 30 minutes over 12 bounces have been received from a province in China and 4 more from an USA collage.

My fire wall allows me to track back to the source. It is the ones that have no source to be found, that I find suspicious.

Currently I am using my back up drive while I wipe clean and reinstall my main drive again. I uninstalled the ACD See program, but my graphic files are still searching for it and my firewall program I can not use. It keeps shuting down.

+

+

More computer fixing.

Finally I have fixed a computer for a friend of a work mate.

Never again will I offer to do such again till I see the condition it is in.

How it even booted up into a state like safe mode, without the safe mode written on the screen, I never know.

Under normal circumstances I would have erase everything and reinstalled from scratch. About 2 hours of work.

The main trouble was that I had to fix it without losing the internet settings information, music files and pictures he had built up over the years.

He will be told not to erase what he thinks is unwanted files and folders.

He wil also be told what I will do to him if he wrecks it again.

Over 20 hours of brain draining and doing this and that. Wondering how to do this without erasing stuff that had to be kept.

I had said I would do it for �5 ($7.55 US) and now regreat that. For it works out at 25 pence (38 cents US) per hour of work.

And no, I will not ask for more money, as the person in question is unemployed. I remember what it is like to be unemployed and broke.

=

=

All set to pack

Yeeeehhhhaaaaaaaawwwww

Finally my tickets for the flight from Belfast intl. to London Heathrow have arrived.

Thats the Tickets, Tour and Insurance booked, paid for and received.

I took out a years insurance, so if I go to southern ireland or maybe Spain or France for a weekend. I do not have to worry about insurance.

Home - Belfast - London - Japan = 19 hours. There is about another 2 hours to add to this for the travel from the airport to the hotel.

I am going to be nackered, but I am arriving 2 days early for the tour, which will give me the time to adjust to the time diference.

Just the long wait till the 8th March 2003.

=

=

Holiday & a past memory

Stage 4 completed.

Tour in Japan booked and paid for.

Flight from London to Tokyo booked, paid for and tickets received.

Flight from Belfast to London booked. Received the e-mail confirming the booking on the 7th of October. Phoned today 18th and was told the ticket was being done up and I should have it in 5 to 7 working days.

Reason for delay, was that they manually print and enveloped their tickets. So far payment has not left my credit card and I have several months till my departure date, so I am not worrying yet.

Well they do sell tickets to europe, north america and a few other places. But they could have said in the e-mail what the usual delay in receiving tickets was.

I know how damodred feels see entry

http://damodred.diaryland.com/021015_48.html as there are some things I can no longer do and other stuff I am not suppose to do, but I do anyhow and end up suffering for it. But while I can do something, I will, no matter how much pain I suffer because of it. I use to be active and very fit being a dishwasher in a hotel. Heavy lifting and moving fast to get things done quickly "when the shit hit the fan".

Holidays times like christmas were very demanding physically and mentally. You try to workout how to clean a burnt pot in 5 minutes or less, when it needs to be steeped over night and the head chief is yelling for it.

Or when you are alone with 300 or more people dishes to wash over a 4 hour period because the other dishwasher phoned in sick, but was later caught by the head chief at a new years party.

They have a 3 course meal, and there is the coffee and tea they have before and after their meals. You also have the kitchen to clean and pot and pans.

I did have help from the manager and deputy manager, half hour from each and one of the bars lads for an hour.

from 1 pm to 5 pm I had another dish washer, but when he tried to stay on I told him to go on home, for he was 62 and he was showing signs of having done a hard day already. I finished at 3 am some how and as I was heading to the staff room for my motorbike gear the bar staff started to wheel down the trolleys full of function hall glasses. After 14 hour of hell, I kept going and went home. I had 2 breaks in all that time. One 5 minutes smoke break and then later another smoke break with a bowl of soup and a bread roll. That was a long 10 minutes.

Even when I was working like a dog and everything seemed to be going to hell, I like the dishwasher job. The correct job title was kitchen assistant as that also covered the vegetables I prepared for the chiefs.

Reading Damodred entry made me think back and now I feel a bit down as I remember what I could do back then.

=

=

Osaka . . . . . . . . . Belfast

The WeatherPixie . . . . . The WeatherPixie

previous next

Still breathing - 27.07.11 - 14:16 -

Long awaited entry - 23.05.11 - 23:57 -

Kinder Hunting - 25.03.09 - 21:47 -

unemployment :( - 12.02.09 - 01:11 -

Orange blocks 0560 numbers - 30.09.08 - 23:33 -